Welcome New Members! We want to hear from you. Register, stop lurking and start posting!

Search found 43 matches

by WeatherNerdEd
Fri Mar 22, 2024 10:37 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

Hi guys! Just thought I should say I'll be taking a holiday tomorrow for a week. I also haven't posted here in a few days.
BUT, rest assured I have been gathering screenshots when I remember, so next week, expect a huge wad of images!

See you soon! :D
by WeatherNerdEd
Mon Mar 18, 2024 7:52 am
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

These images were taken after midnight sorry. On the upside, if you're in WA, it was only 29mins after midnight! 16 March 2024 Cairns 128km Radar @ 16:29UTC (17/03 02:29 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/B215S9r/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: A little clump near Cairns. Runner Up: Wollongong 1...
by WeatherNerdEd
Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:22 pm
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: Tropical Cyclone Megan
Replies: 3
Views: 410

Tropical Cyclone Megan

This system has been upgraded to a Category 1 cyclone (45kn sustained), and was named TC Megan.
by WeatherNerdEd
Sat Mar 16, 2024 8:17 am
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: TL 08U
Replies: 1
Views: 125

TL 08U

This one's taking its time to develop. The forecast track map says that this will become a Cat 1 on March 19.
Image
by WeatherNerdEd
Sat Mar 16, 2024 8:15 am
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: Tropical Cyclone Megan
Replies: 3
Views: 410

Tropical Cyclone Megan

This looks like it'll be a good cyclone! This system should get the name Megan, if it beats 08U to cyclone status. Otherwise it will be Neville.
Image
by WeatherNerdEd
Sat Mar 16, 2024 8:12 am
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: TL 10U
Replies: 1
Views: 114

TL 10U

BoM has discontinued forecasts for this system, meaning they no longer expect it to become a TC.
by WeatherNerdEd
Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:14 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

15 March 2024 Mildura 256km Radar @ 10:14UTC (21:14 AEDT) https://i.ibb.co/X5qz8wm/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Little splotches of mild rain. Runner Up: Berrimah 256km Radar @ 10:09UTC (19:39 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/T1Ynmh3/Runner-up.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Littl...
by WeatherNerdEd
Thu Mar 14, 2024 9:10 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

14 March 2024 Weipa 256km Radar @ 09:59UTC (19:59 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/2tbWrF1/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: The only thing remotely special on the radar today is the little moat of no-clouds between two little rain patches. Runner Up: Captains Flat 128km Radar @ 09:34UTC (20:34...
by WeatherNerdEd
Wed Mar 13, 2024 9:01 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

13 March 2024 Berrimah 256km Radar @ 09:54UTC (19:24 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/HPHy2tg/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Just a little bit of moderate. Again, nothing special. Runner Up: Ceduna 128km Radar @ 09:54UTC (19:24 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/0yTBpLx/Runner-up.png Nominated by: Weath...
by WeatherNerdEd
Wed Mar 13, 2024 7:31 am
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

12 March 2024 Warruwi 256km Radar @ 10:29UTC (19:59 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/fkvWxNr/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: A nice big clump of rain. Nothing too special. Runner Up: Mackay 256km Radar @ 10:49UTC (20:49 AWST) https://i.ibb.co/ZB0bQht/Runner-up.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd ...
by WeatherNerdEd
Tue Mar 12, 2024 6:53 pm
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: TL 10U
Replies: 1
Views: 114

TL 10U

Because we don't have enough TLs! Again, not much info, it should form later tonight. Have a read of the TC forecast.
by WeatherNerdEd
Mon Mar 11, 2024 10:29 pm
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: Tropical Cyclone Lincoln
Replies: 3
Views: 455

Tropical Cyclone Lincoln

Any news on this Low.. ? Yesterday media claimed had formed Today radio claims forming today. I can’t see info re this ? Sorry for the late reply, but I'm going to point you to this Wikipedia article: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023%E2%80%9324_Australian_region_cyclone_season#Tropical_Cyclone_Li...
by WeatherNerdEd
Mon Mar 11, 2024 10:26 pm
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: Tropical Cyclone Megan
Replies: 3
Views: 410

Tropical Cyclone Megan

TL 09U Just formed, thought while I was on here I'd make a post. Pretty much, all the information we have is BoM's forecast: Low risk of a tropical cyclone for the Timor Sea or Gulf of Carpentaria. The monsoon is strengthening over waters near the north Australian coast. A tropical low may form wit...
by WeatherNerdEd
Mon Mar 11, 2024 10:22 pm
Forum: Tropical Australia
Topic: TL 08U
Replies: 1
Views: 125

TL 08U

Tropical Low 08U. I find it quite interesting as 09U formed very close only days later. It's been on my radar for a while now but seeing as this is the first day of JTWC reports and BoM Tech Reports, I thought it's about time I make a post. Oddly enough, the wind speed would dictate this to be a Cat...
by WeatherNerdEd
Mon Mar 11, 2024 10:11 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

11 March 2024 Warruwi 128km Radar @ 11:04UTC (20:34 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/ZSBDsvv/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Nothing too special was on the radar today, but this clump of rain took my eye. Runner Up: Broome 256km Radar @ 11:04UTC (19:04 AWST) https://i.ibb.co/kyr2fmv/Runner-up...
by WeatherNerdEd
Sun Mar 10, 2024 7:14 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

10 March 2024 Mackay 128km Radar @ 05:34UTC (15:34 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/gvqPxXL/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: It seems Mackay is a magnet for severe weather. I'm going to Townsville next week so hopefully not too bad. Runner Up: Weipa 256km Radar @ 07:34UTC (17:34 AEST) https://...
by WeatherNerdEd
Fri Mar 08, 2024 5:13 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

8 March 2024 Mackay 128km Radar @ 05:34UTC (15:34 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/P1PZVZN/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Elongated severe weather clouds. Continues like this up the Qld coast line, with even more, less intense rain near Cairns. Runner Up: Woomera 128km Radar @ 06:04UTC (16:3...
by WeatherNerdEd
Thu Mar 07, 2024 8:25 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

7 March 2024 Warruwi 256km Radar @ 09:09UTC (18:39 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/x7hK3tq/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: A large, moderate intensity clump. Runner Up: Broome 256km Radar @ 08:49UTC (16:49 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/bPBjyg1/Runner-up.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Litt...
by WeatherNerdEd
Wed Mar 06, 2024 10:06 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

6 March 2024 Mackay 256km Radar @ 10:59UTC (20:59 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/t2XtX0k/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: Small, scattered, but severe rain near Mackay. It's worst around Midge Point. Runner Up: Tindal 128km Radar @ 10:49UTC (20:19 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/sCRzG5V/Runner-up.png...
by WeatherNerdEd
Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:06 pm
Forum: The Lounge
Topic: Radar Image of the Day
Replies: 18
Views: 1280

Radar Image of the Day

5 March 2024 Willis Island 256km Radar @ 10:59UTC (20:59 AEST) https://i.ibb.co/Dtfn4zX/Winner.png Nominated by: WeatherNerdEd Caption: A clump of rain off the coast of Qld. Looks to be moderate rain. Runner Up: Berrimah 256km Radar @ 10:49UTC (20:19 ACST) https://i.ibb.co/j40d79p/Runner-up.png Nom...