Welcome New Members! We want to hear from you. Register, stop lurking and start posting!

Thunder's NQ Chase photos and stories

Enter here to see some stunning photography from our Australian Weather Forum members.
Thunder
Cumulonimbus
Reactions:

Thunder's NQ Chase photos and stories

Post by Thunder »

Ok for anyone who doesn’t know me I am Thunder(aka Lee), I live in Townsville NQ. I generally chase within a 100-200km radius from home but will go much further if I have the time and the weather has the promise. I have been chasing on and off for years but I wouldn’t really call what I used to do chasing(story for another time), I have been more serious and FAR more educated this storm season and have pulled off some pretty sweet chases and busted out more times than I would like to admit too! I got sick of only ever having stories when I would come home so I started learning about storm photography(after all a picture says a thousand words!), picked up a DSLR for the first time about 3 weeks ago after plenty of reading and asking…. So without too much more yapping here’s my first up efforts (none are fixed in PS yet because I have to learn it but I played with the tones- clickable thumbs, I am kind to those with poor bandwidth)…

12th Jan, this is my chase to the Gregory Development Road (http://maps.google.com.au/maps?q=-19.52 ... 0&t=m&z=11 ) and first real opportunity to point the Canon at a storm.

This is my first ever “Keeper”(actually the very first bolt I caught with the DSLR-ever!) that is now titled “Missed Opotunities” because of comment made by Meso at WZ forum- thanks Meso if your reading :) , if only I had a chainsaw! I should have moved actually but was looking more at a cell further down the road when this one became more lightning active again after dying off temporarily and my preferred cell died totally.