Weather station purchase

All general weather related discussion & questions, including model discussions, longer-term outlooks & anything non-breaking weather.

Moderator: mad*moo73

Post Reply
Online
User avatar
Onetahuti
Supercell
Posts: 2550
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:37 pm
Location: Dandenong Nth.

Weather station purchase

Post by Onetahuti » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:11 pm

Hi all, I am thinking of updating my weather station, currently have a LaCrosse on which the anemometer is no more, pole on which it was snapped. Not really looking at the top of the range but not completely ruling it out but one that has a good range of data available. Is it better to have the various instruments seperate ie not at the top of the pole as my hunch is that the readings for temperature and rainfall in particular may not be as acruate as they could be. Have no preference as to solar or battery powered, making the assumption all stations are wireless transmission.
My thanks in advance. Rod.

JasmineStorm
Supercell
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:40 pm
Location: Kyneton 527 ASL

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by JasmineStorm » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm

Hi Rod,

Depends on how precise you want your readings in my opinion. For me, I can't go past a Davis station which can be a little more pricey but super reliable and has good options.

If you are in a built up area, I would suggest you have your wind readings from a height at least above the height of houses in your neighbourhood. Nothing more frustrating than a big wind gust and you get a 10 km/h gust reading on your consol :) Rain and temp should be located 1.5m above ground away from trees and buildings. It might blow your budget but I suggest a Davis Vantage Pro2 - Wireless 6152, which allows the anemometer to be mounted separately, from the rain collector (up to 12m)


Cheers
JS

Tanevan
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: Paraburdoo Western Australia

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by Tanevan » Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:56 pm

JasmineStorm wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm
Hi Rod,

Depends on how precise you want your readings in my opinion. For me, I can't go past a Davis station which can be a little more pricey but super reliable and has good options.

If you are in a built up area, I would suggest you have your wind readings from a height at least above the height of houses in your neighbourhood. Nothing more frustrating than a big wind gust and you get a 10 km/h gust reading on your consol :) Rain and temp should be located 1.5m above ground away from trees and buildings. It might blow your budget but I suggest a Davis Vantage Pro2 - Wireless 6152, which allows the anemometer to be mounted separately, from the rain collector (up to 12m)


Cheers
JS
Hello
I have been watching this post as I looking for a weather station as well.
I am looking at the Davis line. Been doing a little research on line there seems to be a little bit of difference of opinion about connecting it to your PC. Some say it is easy others are saying that it is too hard and too add this, the price increases a lot. Just wondering what your thoughts are on this
are.

JasmineStorm
Supercell
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:40 pm
Location: Kyneton 527 ASL

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by JasmineStorm » Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:43 pm

Tanevan wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:56 pm
JasmineStorm wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm
Hi Rod,

Depends on how precise you want your readings in my opinion. For me, I can't go past a Davis station which can be a little more pricey but super reliable and has good options.

If you are in a built up area, I would suggest you have your wind readings from a height at least above the height of houses in your neighbourhood. Nothing more frustrating than a big wind gust and you get a 10 km/h gust reading on your consol :) Rain and temp should be located 1.5m above ground away from trees and buildings. It might blow your budget but I suggest a Davis Vantage Pro2 - Wireless 6152, which allows the anemometer to be mounted separately, from the rain collector (up to 12m)


Cheers
JS
Hello
I have been watching this post as I looking for a weather station as well.
I am looking at the Davis line. Been doing a little research on line there seems to be a little bit of difference of opinion about connecting it to your PC. Some say it is easy others are saying that it is too hard and too add this, the price increases a lot. Just wondering what your thoughts are on this
are.
Hi Tanevan, welcome to the forum.

It is a little bit of a tricky set up but once its up and running, there is no looking back. Just make sure you have a support number to call if it gets too hard. Given your harsh climate in the Pilbara, a quality tough station would be quite important.

User avatar
Australis(Shell3155)
Supercell
Posts: 2248
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:05 pm
Location: Boronia
Contact:

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by Australis(Shell3155) » Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:30 pm

i see Jaycar had a couple of reasonable priced ones, does anyone have any feed back on these. ?
I previously had a cheapy from Bunnings, the customer support was amazing, phone support new parts shipped, so it sure was value for money, Id like a new one also.

JasmineStorm
Supercell
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:40 pm
Location: Kyneton 527 ASL

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by JasmineStorm » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:47 pm

The Davis vantage vue is a cheaper version but you can't have the wind cups in a separate location as they mounted as part of the weather station. Depending on what you are after, this maybe fine.

YouTube is a great place to see reviews on all types of stations. Some the Davis stations mentioned on there is are still going after 30 years :)

Online
User avatar
Onetahuti
Supercell
Posts: 2550
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:37 pm
Location: Dandenong Nth.

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by Onetahuti » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:31 am

JasmineStorm wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm
Hi Rod,

Depends on how precise you want your readings in my opinion. For me, I can't go past a Davis station which can be a little more pricey but super reliable and has good options.

If you are in a built up area, I would suggest you have your wind readings from a height at least above the height of houses in your neighbourhood. Nothing more frustrating than a big wind gust and you get a 10 km/h gust reading on your consol :) Rain and temp should be located 1.5m above ground away from trees and buildings. It might blow your budget but I suggest a Davis Vantage Pro2 - Wireless 6152, which allows the anemometer to be mounted separately, from the rain collector (up to 12m)


Cheers
JS
Decided on the Davis Vantage 6152 wireless, delivery it is on it's way. 👍

JasmineStorm
Supercell
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:40 pm
Location: Kyneton 527 ASL

Re: Weather station purchase

Post by JasmineStorm » Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:04 pm

Onetahuti wrote:
Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:31 am
JasmineStorm wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm
Hi Rod,

Depends on how precise you want your readings in my opinion. For me, I can't go past a Davis station which can be a little more pricey but super reliable and has good options.

If you are in a built up area, I would suggest you have your wind readings from a height at least above the height of houses in your neighbourhood. Nothing more frustrating than a big wind gust and you get a 10 km/h gust reading on your consol :) Rain and temp should be located 1.5m above ground away from trees and buildings. It might blow your budget but I suggest a Davis Vantage Pro2 - Wireless 6152, which allows the anemometer to be mounted separately, from the rain collector (up to 12m)


Cheers
JS
Decided on the Davis Vantage 6152 wireless, delivery it is on it's way. 👍
Exciting times....nothing like a top of the range weather station about to arrive in the mail ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Onetahuti and 1 guest